The Front Office

Scouting report · KNSL

Bryan P. Petrucelli

  • EVP, Chief Financial Officer & Treasurer, KNSL since 2015-03src

Kinsale's finance head since 2009; CFO since March 2015

—thin record

Not ranked yet

Scouting sheet

as of 24 Sep 2026
Delivers guidance—0 beat · 2 met · 0 missed · 0 withdrawn — fewer than 4, not scored
Answers the question920 dodges in 2 answers on 2 calls
Capital allocation100company five-year record: compounds
Pay design73underwriting profit, individual, time only · 97.6% for · 0.64% of net income
Skin in the game71stake worth $22.8m, 7× last year's pay
Age
60src
In the role
12 yr
Promises scored
2
Hit rate
100%
Dodges / 100 answers
0.0
Airtime on calls
9%
Every promise, oldest firstMM

What to weigh

Watch 3

  • Sold all 5,100 shares from exercising his expiring 2016 IPO options on the same day (2026-02-27) at $378.35, about $1.93m. The Form 4 does not tick the 10b5-1 box, and the sale came a week after the FY2025 10-K was filedsrc
  • His cash bonus comes from a pool set as a % of underwriting profit taken after prior-year reserve development, so reserve releases raise it. The dossier's earnings-quality check flags releases rising from 2.79 to 3.99 points of net earned premium in 2025. His 2025 bonus of $1.6m was on a 125%-of-salary target ($750k), about 213%, the top of the 185-213% range the proxy gives for non-CEO NEOssrc
  • Equity awards are time-vested restricted stock (25% a year over four years) with no performance conditionsrc

In their favour 2

  • Holds 64,764 shares, worth about $25m at the $391.12 year-end 2025 close the proxy uses, against a 3x-salary ownership guideline he met at 2025 year end. Company policy bans hedging and pledgingsrc
  • Stable finance seat: at Kinsale since 2009 and CFO since March 2015. Both S8 commitments he made (dossier rows 2 and 3, equity allocation and buyback pace) scored metsrc

Career

  1. 2020 – now
    Kinsale Capital Groupsrc
    EVP, Chief Financial Officer & Treasurer
  2. 2015 – 2020
    Kinsale Capital Groupsrc
    SVP, Chief Financial Officer & Treasurer
    CFO from 2015-03-01, Treasurer from December 2015; carried the company through the July 2016 IPO
  3. 2009 – 2015
    Kinsale Capital Groupsrc
    Vice President of Finance
    Joined in 2009, the year the company was founded

Undated in the sources

  • Ernst & Youngsrc, Senior Manager, audit practice
  • Travelers Insurance Companysrc, Auditor, leaving as senior auditor

Not located: Start and end years of the Ernst & Young and Travelers periods are not stated in any filing read (the prospectus gives only 'over 13 years' and 'seven years'); the month he joined Kinsale in 2009 is not stated

Achievements

  • Has run Kinsale's finance function since the company's founding year (2009), and has been CFO since March 2015, through the July 2016 IPOsrc
  • Came from more than 13 years in Ernst & Young's audit practice serving insurance clients, after seven years at Travelerssrc
  • A Certified Public Accountant, per the 2016 prospectus (the 2026 proxy bio does not repeat it)src
  • Kinsale's FY2025 GAAP net income was $503.6msrc
  • Say-on-pay passed with 97.6% of votes cast for and against at the May 2026 meetingsrc

Education

  • James Madison University, BBA Financesrc
  • Virginia Commonwealth University, Post-Baccalaureate Certificate Accountingsrc

Background

  • Family The 2026 proxy states there are no family relationships among any directors or executive officerssrc
  • Family Moved 29,307 shares to his spouse in three gifts in May 2026; the Form 4s report them as now held indirectly, so his beneficial ownership is unchangedsrc
  • Other No outside board or trustee role was located in the filings read or in a web searchsrc
  • Other No employment or severance agreement: the proxy says no NEO other than the CEO has one; only death or disability accelerates his unvested restricted stocksrc

The promise ledger

2 scored · 0 open
ResultWhat was promisedWhere it is scoredHow
M Met2025 · equity allocation from 8% to 10% of cash and invested assets, 12% "over the next year or so"KNSL row 2said it
M Metfrom Q1 2025 · buyback pace · "similar modest levels" to Q4 2024's $10m, each quarterKNSL row 3said it

Questions dodged

0.0 per 100 answers

None logged on the calls reviewed.

Calls reviewed

  • FY2026-Q1.roic.json — 1 answers, 8% of the words
  • FY2026-Q2.roic.json — 1 answers, 10% of the words

Sources

10
  1. Filing Kinsale Capital Group DEF 14A (accession 0001669162-26-000020) · 2026-04-09
  2. Filing Kinsale Capital Group 8-K Item 5.07, 2026 annual meeting results (0001669162-26-000035) · 2026-05-21
  3. Filing Kinsale Capital Group IPO prospectus, 424B4 (0001567619-16-002691) · 2016-07-29
  4. Filing SEC XBRL companyconcept us-gaap/NetIncomeLoss, CIK 1669162 (FY2025 10-K, 0001669162-26-000015) · 2026-02-20
  5. Filing Form 4, Bryan P. Petrucelli (reporting CIK 1679235), option exercise and sale of 2026-02-27 (0001679235-26-000002) · 2026-03-02
  6. Filing Form 4, Bryan P. Petrucelli, restricted stock grant and tax withholding of 2026-03-01 (0001679235-26-000004) · 2026-03-03
  7. Filing Form 4, Bryan P. Petrucelli, transfer to spouse of 2026-05-04 (0001679235-26-000006) · 2026-05-05
  8. Filing Form 4, Bryan P. Petrucelli, transfer to spouse of 2026-05-08 (0001679235-26-000008) · 2026-05-12
  9. Filing Form 4, Bryan P. Petrucelli, transfer to spouse of 2026-05-21 (0001679235-26-000010) · 2026-05-26
  10. Web search result WebSearch: "Bryan Petrucelli" Kinsale CFO board OR trustee (results were company, data-vendor and LinkedIn bios repeating the proxy; no outside board or trustee role shown) · 2026-09-24