Scouting report · KNSL
Bryan P. Petrucelli
Kinsale's finance head since 2009; CFO since March 2015
—thin record
Not ranked yet
Scouting sheet
as of 24 Sep 2026Delivers guidance—0 beat · 2 met · 0 missed · 0 withdrawn — fewer than 4, not scored
Answers the question920 dodges in 2 answers on 2 calls
Capital allocation100company five-year record: compounds
Pay design73underwriting profit, individual, time only · 97.6% for · 0.64% of net income
Skin in the game71stake worth $22.8m, 7× last year's pay
- Age
- 60src
- In the role
- 12 yr
- Promises scored
- 2
- Hit rate
- 100%
- Dodges / 100 answers
- 0.0
- Airtime on calls
- 9%
Every promise, oldest firstMM
What to weigh
Watch 3
- Sold all 5,100 shares from exercising his expiring 2016 IPO options on the same day (2026-02-27) at $378.35, about $1.93m. The Form 4 does not tick the 10b5-1 box, and the sale came a week after the FY2025 10-K was filedsrc
- His cash bonus comes from a pool set as a % of underwriting profit taken after prior-year reserve development, so reserve releases raise it. The dossier's earnings-quality check flags releases rising from 2.79 to 3.99 points of net earned premium in 2025. His 2025 bonus of $1.6m was on a 125%-of-salary target ($750k), about 213%, the top of the 185-213% range the proxy gives for non-CEO NEOssrc
- Equity awards are time-vested restricted stock (25% a year over four years) with no performance conditionsrc
In their favour 2
- Holds 64,764 shares, worth about $25m at the $391.12 year-end 2025 close the proxy uses, against a 3x-salary ownership guideline he met at 2025 year end. Company policy bans hedging and pledgingsrc
- Stable finance seat: at Kinsale since 2009 and CFO since March 2015. Both S8 commitments he made (dossier rows 2 and 3, equity allocation and buyback pace) scored metsrc
Career
- 2020 – now
- 2015 – 2020Kinsale Capital Groupsrc
SVP, Chief Financial Officer & Treasurer
CFO from 2015-03-01, Treasurer from December 2015; carried the company through the July 2016 IPO - 2009 – 2015
Undated in the sources
- Ernst & Youngsrc, Senior Manager, audit practice
- Travelers Insurance Companysrc, Auditor, leaving as senior auditor
Not located: Start and end years of the Ernst & Young and Travelers periods are not stated in any filing read (the prospectus gives only 'over 13 years' and 'seven years'); the month he joined Kinsale in 2009 is not stated
Achievements
- Has run Kinsale's finance function since the company's founding year (2009), and has been CFO since March 2015, through the July 2016 IPOsrc
- Came from more than 13 years in Ernst & Young's audit practice serving insurance clients, after seven years at Travelerssrc
- A Certified Public Accountant, per the 2016 prospectus (the 2026 proxy bio does not repeat it)src
- Kinsale's FY2025 GAAP net income was $503.6msrc
- Say-on-pay passed with 97.6% of votes cast for and against at the May 2026 meetingsrc
Education
Background
- Family The 2026 proxy states there are no family relationships among any directors or executive officerssrc
- Family Moved 29,307 shares to his spouse in three gifts in May 2026; the Form 4s report them as now held indirectly, so his beneficial ownership is unchangedsrc
- Other No outside board or trustee role was located in the filings read or in a web searchsrc
- Other No employment or severance agreement: the proxy says no NEO other than the CEO has one; only death or disability accelerates his unvested restricted stocksrc
The promise ledger
2 scored · 0 openQuestions dodged
0.0 per 100 answersNone logged on the calls reviewed.
Calls reviewed
FY2026-Q1.roic.json— 1 answers, 8% of the wordsFY2026-Q2.roic.json— 1 answers, 10% of the words
Sources
10- Filing Kinsale Capital Group DEF 14A (accession 0001669162-26-000020) · 2026-04-09
- Filing Kinsale Capital Group 8-K Item 5.07, 2026 annual meeting results (0001669162-26-000035) · 2026-05-21
- Filing Kinsale Capital Group IPO prospectus, 424B4 (0001567619-16-002691) · 2016-07-29
- Filing SEC XBRL companyconcept us-gaap/NetIncomeLoss, CIK 1669162 (FY2025 10-K, 0001669162-26-000015) · 2026-02-20
- Filing Form 4, Bryan P. Petrucelli (reporting CIK 1679235), option exercise and sale of 2026-02-27 (0001679235-26-000002) · 2026-03-02
- Filing Form 4, Bryan P. Petrucelli, restricted stock grant and tax withholding of 2026-03-01 (0001679235-26-000004) · 2026-03-03
- Filing Form 4, Bryan P. Petrucelli, transfer to spouse of 2026-05-04 (0001679235-26-000006) · 2026-05-05
- Filing Form 4, Bryan P. Petrucelli, transfer to spouse of 2026-05-08 (0001679235-26-000008) · 2026-05-12
- Filing Form 4, Bryan P. Petrucelli, transfer to spouse of 2026-05-21 (0001679235-26-000010) · 2026-05-26
- Web search result WebSearch: "Bryan Petrucelli" Kinsale CFO board OR trustee (results were company, data-vendor and LinkedIn bios repeating the proxy; no outside board or trustee role shown) · 2026-09-24