The Front Office

Scouting report · C

Jane N. Fraser

  • Chair & Chief Executive Officer, C since 2021-02src

Citi CEO since February 2021 and Chair since October 2025

—thin record

Not ranked yet

Scouting sheet

as of 24 Sep 2026
Delivers guidance—no promises on the record yet
Answers the question—no call reviewed yet
Capital allocation—company not reviewed yet
Pay design40roe, book value, strategic, individual, time only · 60.4% for · 0.67% of net income
Skin in the game—no holding or price on file
Age
58src
In the role
6 yr
Promises scored
0
Hit rate
—
Dodges / 100 answers
—
Airtime on calls
—
Every promise, oldest firstno scored promises yet

What to weigh

Red flag 1

  • Say-on-pay for 2025 got 60.4% of for-and-against votes at the May 2026 meeting (763.5m for, 500.7m against), down from 91% in 2025. She was re-elected with 6.2% againstsrc

Watch 4

  • 2025 reported pay was $95.8m. That includes an October 2025 special award approved at $25m of RSUs plus 1.055m options (approved value $35m), time-vested in thirds after 3, 4 and 5 years with no performance condition, granted for retentionsrc
  • CEO pay ratio 1,309:1 including the special award, 577:1 without it; median employee pay $73,145src
  • Holds both Chair and CEO roles since October 2025, balanced by a Lead Independent Director (John Dugan)src
  • The 2020 OCC and Fed consent orders still stand five years into her tenure; at the August 2026 Investor Day she said the timing of their removal sits with the regulatorssrc

In their favour 1

  • No open-market purchases or sales in the last 12 months. Form 4 activity was award grants and shares withheld for tax. She must keep 75% of net vested award shares while in office, and hedging is bannedsrc

Career

  1. 2025 – now
    Citigroupsrc
    Chair & Chief Executive Officer
    Board recombined the Chair and CEO roles on 2025-10-22 and named John Dugan Lead Independent Director
  2. 2021 – 2025
    Citigroupsrc
    Chief Executive Officer; director since 2020
  3. 2019 – 2021
    Citigroupsrc
    President of Citi (Oct 2019 - Feb 2021) and CEO, Global Consumer Banking (2019-2020)
  4. 2015 – 2019
    Citigroupsrc
    CEO, Citi Latin America
  5. 2013 – 2015
    Citigroupsrc
    CEO, U.S. Consumer and Commercial Banking and CitiMortgage
  6. 2009 – 2013
    Citigroupsrc
    Global Head of Citi Private Bank
  7. 2007 – 2009
    Citigroupsrc
    Global Head of Strategy and Mergers & Acquisitions
  8. 2004 – 2007
    Citigroupsrc
    Joined Citi in 2004; role not stated in the filings
  9. 1994 – 2004
    McKinsey & Companysrc
    Consultant in financial services and global strategy, rising to partner
  10. 1990 – 1992
    Asesores Bursátiles (Madrid)src
    Securities firm; end year not stated (she went to HBS for an MBA completed 1994)
  11. 1988 – 1990
    Goldman Sachs (London)src
    M&A analyst

Not located: The 2004-2007 role at Citi is not described in the proxy or 10-K; everything before 2004 comes from a search summary only, and the end of the Madrid job is not dated

Achievements

  • First woman to run a major U.S. bank; CEO since February 2021 and Chair since October 2025, having run Citi's Latin America, consumer and private bank businessessrc
  • Citi's five-year cumulative total return (Dec 2020 = 100) reached 226.3 at end-2025, against 203.5 for the S&P Financials and 196.2 for the S&P 500src
  • FY2025 net income $14.3bn, up from $12.7bn in FY2024 and $9.2bn in FY2023src
  • Per the proxy, all five businesses had record revenue in 2025 and positive operating leverage for a second full year, and Citi returned over $17.5bn to common holderssrc
  • Sold a 25% stake in Banamex to a Mexican investor, agreed a further 24% sale to institutions and family offices, and closed the exit from institutional operations in Russiasrc

Education

  • University of Cambridge (Girton College), BA Economics (1988)src
  • Harvard Business School, MBA (1994)src

Background

  • Family Neither the 2026 proxy nor the FY2025 10-K executive-officer section includes an Item 401(d) family-relationships statement; no relative is named in the related-party sectionsrc
  • Boards No other public-company board, now or in the past five yearssrc
  • Other Chair of the Financial Services Forum (elected 2025) and Co-Chair of the U.S.-Saudi Business Council (2025); board member of the Council on Foreign Relations, Business Roundtable and Partnership for New York City; sits on HBS's Board of Dean's Advisors and a Stanford advisory boardsrc
  • Regulatory Became CEO under the 2020 OCC and Federal Reserve consent orders over risk management and data (with a $400m penalty); Citi paid $136m more in 2024 for falling short on them. The OCC lifted its 2024 amendment in December 2025, and both 2020 orders still standsrc

The promise ledger

No promise on the record yet: the research routine has not scored this company's guidance.

Sources

9
  1. Filing Citigroup Inc. DEF 14A, 2026 annual meeting (accession 0001206774-26-000185) · 2026-04-02
  2. Filing Citigroup Inc. 10-K for FY2025, Corporate Information: Executive Officers (0000831001-26-000011) · 2026-02-20
  3. Filing Citigroup Inc. 8-K Item 5.02, one-time CEO equity award (0001104659-25-101579) · 2025-10-22
  4. Filing Citigroup Inc. 8-K Items 5.02/5.07, 2026 annual meeting results (0001104659-26-065155) · 2026-05-21
  5. Filing SEC XBRL companyconcept us-gaap/NetIncomeLoss, CIK 831001 (FY2025 10-K, 0000831001-26-000011) · 2026-02-20
  6. Filing EDGAR submissions for reporting owner Fraser Jane Nind (CIK 1644491): Forms 4 filed 2025-10-22, 2025-10-24 (4/A), 2026-01-20, 2026-02-12, 2026-02-24 · 2026-09-24
  7. Filing Form 4/A, Jane Nind Fraser, special award of 2025-10-22 (0001193125-25-250034) · 2025-10-24
  8. Web search result WebSearch: Jane Fraser, Britannica Money (education, Goldman Sachs, Madrid, McKinsey partner, joined Citi 2004) · 2026-09-24