The Front Office

Scouting report · MU

Mark J. Murphy

  • EVP & Chief Financial Officer, MU since 2022-04src

Micron CFO since April 2022; earlier CFO of Qorvo, Delphi Automotive and MEMC

—thin record

Not ranked yet

Scouting sheet

as of 24 Sep 2026
Delivers guidance—no promises on the record yet
Answers the question—no call reviewed yet
Capital allocation—company not reviewed yet
Pay design87margin, strategic, relative tsr, time only · 95.1% for · 0.13% of net income
Skin in the game—no holding or price on file
Age
58src
In the role
4 yr
Promises scored
0
Hit rate
—
Dodges / 100 answers
—
Airtime on calls
—
Every promise, oldest firstno scored promises yet

What to weigh

Watch 4

  • Sold 126,000 shares for about $28.4m on 2025-10-30 under a 10b5-1 plan first entered 2025-04-22 and modified 2025-07-31, about 36% of the 345,693 shares he held after the October 2025 vestingsrc
  • Short tenures before Qorvo: about a year as MEMC CFO and 16 months as Delphi CFOsrc
  • FY2025 pay still carried relocation costs three years after hire: a $20,000 relocation bonus, $39,515 of expenses and a $30,214 tax reimbursement on themsrc
  • Operational PRSU targets are not disclosed; the FY2023 and FY2024 grants' operational goals were certified at 233% of target in October 2025src

In their favour 1

  • Company policy bans hedging and pledging. His ownership guideline is 3x salary and the proxy says all executive officers complysrc

Career

  1. 2022 – now
    Micron Technologysrc
    Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer
    Effective 2022-04-18, succeeding interim CFO Sumit Sadana after David Zinsner left in January 2022
  2. 2016 – 2022
    Qorvo, Inc.src
    Chief Financial Officer (June 2016 to April 2022)
    Resignation effective 2022-04-18 to join Micron (QRVO-8K-2022)
  3. 2014 – 2016
    Delphi Automotive PLCsrc
    Executive Vice President & CFO (October 2014 to February 2016)
  4. 2012 – 2014
    Praxair, Inc.src
    President, Surface Technologies and Electronics Materials; finished as President, U.S. Industrial Gases
  5. 2011 – 2012
    MEMC Electronic Materials, Inc.src
    Senior Vice President & CFO
  6. 2000 – 2011
    Praxair, Inc.src
    Treasury (2000); finance director, Praxair Electronics (2002); MD, Electronic Components Services (2005); VP finance, Praxair Asia, Shanghai (2006); President, Praxair Electronics (2008); VP & Controller (2010)

Undated in the sources

  • U.S. Marine Corpssrc, Infantry officer and supply officer

Not located: February to June 2016, between Delphi and Qorvo, not described; the year he moved from Surface Technologies to U.S. Industrial Gases at Praxair is not stated; Marine Corps service and degree years not located

Achievements

  • Four public-company CFO seats: MEMC (2011-12), Delphi Automotive (2014-16), Qorvo (2016-22) and Micron (since April 2022)src
  • Micron GAAP net income went from a $5.83bn loss in FY2023, his first full year, to $8.54bn in FY2025src
  • Ran operating businesses at Praxair, including its electronics division supplying semiconductor makers and the U.S. Industrial Gases business, its largest divisionsrc
  • U.S. Marine Corps veteran, served as an infantry officer and a supply officersrc

Education

  • Harvard University, MBA Business Administrationsrc
  • Marquette University, BS Businesssrc

Background

  • Family The proxy states there are no family relationships between any directors or executive officerssrc
  • Family He and his spouse are trustees of the grantor retained annuity trust he moved 35,000 shares into in December 2025 for estate planningsrc
  • Boards Director of Albany International Corp. since May 2019, on its audit and governance committeessrc
  • Boards Member of the advisory council of Boise State University's College of Business and Economicssrc
  • Service U.S. Marine Corps officer (infantry, then supply)src
  • Other Hired with a $250,000 sign-on bonus and a new-hire equity award of about $10m, half performance-based; unvested new-hire shares keep vesting after certain terminationssrc

The promise ledger

No promise on the record yet: the research routine has not scored this company's guidance.

Sources

12
  1. Filing Micron Technology DEF 14A for the fiscal 2025 meeting (accession 0000723125-25-000038) · 2025-11-25
  2. Filing Micron Technology 10-K for fiscal 2025, Information About Our Executive Officers and Item 9B (0000723125-25-000028) · 2025-10-03
  3. Filing Micron Technology 10-Q for the quarter ended 2026-05-28, signature page (0000723125-26-000015) · 2026-06-25
  4. Filing Micron Technology 8-K Item 5.02, Murphy appointed EVP & CFO (0000723125-22-000020) · 2022-04-08
  5. Filing Micron Technology 8-K Items 5.03/5.07, fiscal 2025 annual meeting results of 2026-01-15 (0001104659-26-005366) · 2026-01-21
  6. Filing Qorvo 8-K Item 5.02, Murphy appointed CFO effective 2016-06-06, with full prior career (0001604778-16-000164) · 2016-05-26
  7. Filing Qorvo 8-K Item 5.02, Murphy resigns as CFO effective 2022-04-18 to join Micron (0001193125-22-096335) · 2022-04-05
  8. Filing SEC XBRL companyconcept us-gaap/NetIncomeLoss, CIK 723125 (FY2025 10-K, 0000723125-25-000028) · 2025-10-03
  9. Filing Form 4, Mark J. Murphy (reporting CIK 1498287), FY2026 RSA grant and PRSU vesting of 2025-10-13 (0001498287-25-000005) · 2025-10-15
  10. Filing Form 4, Mark J. Murphy, 10b5-1 sales of 2025-10-30 (0001498287-25-000007) · 2025-11-03
  11. Filing Form 4, Mark J. Murphy, transfer of 35,000 shares to his GRAT on 2025-12-24 (0001498287-25-000009) · 2025-12-29
  12. Web search result WebSearch: Micron press release 2022-04-05, 'Micron Appoints Mark Murphy as Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer' (began his career as a U.S. Marine Corps officer) · 2026-09-24