The Front Office

Scouting report · FAF

Mark E. Seaton

  • Chief Executive Officer & Director, FAF since 2025-04src

First American's CFO for 12 years; CEO since April 2025

—thin record

Not ranked yet

Scouting sheet

as of 24 Sep 2026
Delivers guidance—no promises on the record yet
Answers the question—no call reviewed yet
Capital allocation—company not reviewed yet
Pay design8088% performance-conditioned · margin, roe, relative tsr, strategic, time only · 97.5% for · 1.33% of net income
Skin in the game—no holding or price on file
Age
48src
In the role
2 yr
Promises scored
0
Hit rate
—
Dodges / 100 answers
—
Airtime on calls
—
Every promise, oldest firstno scored promises yet

What to weigh

Watch 3

  • First CEO role, taken over unplanned from the CFO seat, with the former CEO sitting above him as Executive Chairmansrc
  • The bonus pays on non-GAAP pretax margin and ROE that exclude investment and venture gains and losses, intangible amortization and, at the committee's discretion, other non-operating items. The committee may also move the payout by up to 30 points (not used for 2025)src
  • Total pay rose from $3.77m (2024, as CFO) to $8.28m (2025) on the promotion; CEO pay ratio 101:1src

In their favour 3

  • The proxy puts about 88% of his target pay at risk; half of long-term awards are PRSUs paying on three-year TSR relative to the S&P MidCap 400src
  • Meets the 6x-salary ownership guideline per the proxy, with hedging and pledging bannedsrc
  • No open-market sale in the last 12 months: his Form 4s show only grants and shares withheld for tax on vestingsrc

Career

  1. 2025 – now
    First American Financial Corporationsrc
    Chief Executive Officer; director
    Effective 2025-04-10
  2. 2013 – 2025
    First American Financial Corporationsrc
    Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer
    Appointed 2013-03-27, succeeding Max O. Valdes. Per the 2025 CEO press release, as CFO he also oversaw First American Trust (the company's federally chartered bank) and the technology group (WS-promo)
  3. 2010 – 2013
    First American Financial Corporationsrc
    Senior Vice President, Finance
    From August 2010: treasury, financial planning, investment management and investor relations
  4. 2007 – 2010
    First American Financial Corporation (and predecessor The First American Corporation)src
    Director of Investor Relations
  5. 2006 – 2007
    The First American Corporationsrc
    Joined the company (first role not stated)

Undated in the sources

  • BancBoston Capitalsrc, Private equity (role not stated)
  • Robertson Stephenssrc, Investment banking (role not stated)

Not located: Years and titles at BancBoston Capital and Robertson Stephens are not stated in any filing read; his first role on joining First American in 2006 is not stated

Achievements

  • Twelve years as First American's CFO (March 2013 to April 2025) before being promoted to CEO and directorsrc
  • A 20-year company insider: joined in 2006, ran investor relations 2007-2010 and treasury, investments and planning as SVP Finance 2010-2013src
  • First full year as CEO: FY2025 GAAP net income $621.8m, against $131.1m in FY2024src
  • 2025 bonus paid at 142% of target on adjusted pretax margin of 10.6% (target 9.7%) and adjusted ROE of 10.6% (target 9.5%)src
  • 2025 capital returns per the proxy: $122.3m of buybacks (2.1m shares at $58.54 average) and $223.0m of dividendssrc
  • Say-on-pay passed with 97.5% of votes cast for and against at the May 2026 meetingsrc

Education

  • Stanford University, BA Economicssrc
  • Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth College, MBA Business Administrationsrc

Background

  • Family The 2026 proxy states there are no family relationships among directors, nominees and executive officers; the April 2025 8-K says the same for him and reports no Item 404(a) related-party transactionssrc
  • Other Became CEO in an unplanned succession: DeGiorgio was terminated without cause effective 2025-04-10; trade press tied the exit to a misdemeanor assault charge against DeGiorgio from a cruise-ship incidentsrc
  • Other Works alongside Executive Chairman Dennis Gilmore (CEO 2010-2022), appointed the same day 'to provide complementary support and counsel'. Gilmore voluntarily cancelled all of his June 2025 RSU and PRSU awards in April 2026src
  • Boards The 2026 proxy lists no other directorship for him; no outside board or trustee role was located in a web searchsrc
  • Other Employment agreement first signed 2014, renewed 2026 to run to 2028-12-31 with a $1.1m minimum salary; termination without cause pays twice salary plus the second-largest of the prior three bonusessrc

The promise ledger

No promise on the record yet: the research routine has not scored this company's guidance.

Sources

13
  1. Filing First American Financial DEF 14A, 2026 annual meeting (accession 0001193125-26-130349) · 2026-03-30
  2. Filing First American Financial 8-K Item 5.02, CEO departure and appointments of Seaton (CEO) and Wajner (CFO) (0000950170-25-053968) · 2025-04-15
  3. Filing First American Financial 8-K Items 5.03/5.07, 2026 annual meeting results (0001193125-26-226782) · 2026-05-15
  4. Filing First American Financial 8-K Item 5.02, Executive Chairman Gilmore's RSU/PRSU cancellation (0001193125-26-191548) · 2026-04-29
  5. Filing First American Financial 8-K Item 5.02, Seaton appointed EVP & CFO (0001193125-13-134611) · 2013-03-29
  6. Filing First American Financial press release, 'Names Mark E. Seaton as Chief Financial Officer' (EX-99.1 to 0001193125-13-134611) · 2013-03-28
  7. Filing First American Financial press release, Valdes named CFO and Seaton SVP Finance (EX-99.1 to 0001193125-10-198986) · 2010-08-27
  8. Filing First American Financial 10-Q for the quarter ended 2026-06-30, signatures (0001193125-26-314255) · 2026-07-23
  9. Filing SEC XBRL companyconcept us-gaap/NetIncomeLoss, CIK 1472787 (FY2025 10-K, 0001193125-26-055516) · 2026-02-18
  10. Filing Form 4, Mark Edward Seaton (reporting CIK 1507625), RSU grant of 2026-02-19 (0001193125-26-064790) · 2026-02-23
  11. Filing Form 4, Mark Edward Seaton, tax withholding on RSU vesting of 2026-06-22 (0001193125-26-281489) · 2026-06-24
  12. Web search result WebSearch: "Mark Seaton" First American CEO board director trustee (First American press release of 2025-04-15; no outside board or trustee role shown) · 2026-09-24
  13. Web search result WebSearch: First American DeGiorgio terminated without cause April 2025 (National Mortgage News, 'First American elevates CFO to replace embattled CEO') · 2026-09-24