The Front Office

Scouting report · RKLB

Sir Peter Beck

  • Founder, President, CEO & Chairman, RKLB since 2013-07src

Founded Rocket Lab in 2006; President & CEO since 2013, Chairman since 2021

—thin record

Not ranked yet

Scouting sheet

as of 24 Sep 2026
Delivers guidance—no promises on the record yet
Answers the question—no call reviewed yet
Capital allocation—company not reviewed yet
Pay design40individual, time only · 90.5% for · company lost money
Skin in the game—no holding or price on file
Age
48src
In the role
13 yr
Promises scored
0
Hit rate
—
Dodges / 100 answers
—
Airtime on calls
—
Every promise, oldest firstno scored promises yet

What to weigh

Watch 5

  • Key-person dependence is a stated 10-K risk factor. He holds the Chairman, President and CEO roles, and there is no key-person insurancesrc
  • The Equatorial Trust adopted a 10b5-1 sale plan on 2026-03-27, three days before he cut his salary to $1 and forfeited 392,155 unvested RSUs. It converted 5.0m preferred to common on 2026-05-26 and sold 3,275,779 shares for about $286.4m on 2026-07-06 to 2026-07-08src
  • In the twelve months to 2026-09-24 the trust sold about $427.5m of stock under 10b5-1 plans: 2.5m shares in December 2025 and 3.28m in July 2026. He still holds about 43m shares, mostly preferredsrc
  • Pay is time-vested RSUs plus a discretionary cash bonus, with no formula or performance condition. The 2024 package totalled $20.1m, and the company also paid his $415,000 HSR filing fee and $173,535 of legal fees for the preferred exchangesrc
  • Say-on-pay support was 90.5% at the May 2026 meeting. The 2026 proxy puts the 2025 vote at about 80%, the year of the $20.1m packagesrc

In their favour 2

  • From 2026-03-30 he takes $1 base salary (or the New Zealand statutory minimum), has no bonus entitlement and forfeited all unvested RSUs. The company says the money goes to R&Dsrc
  • The largest insider stake: 46.4m shares, 7.5% of voting power, as of 2026-03-30src

Career

  1. 2021 – now
    Rocket Lab (Rocket Lab USA, now Rocket Lab Corporation)src
    Chairman, President & CEO
    Chairman of the Legacy Rocket Lab board from May 2021 and of the listed company from the August 2021 Vector Acquisition merger; the holding company Rocket Lab Corporation became the registrant on 2025-05-23
  2. 2013 – 2021
    Rocket Lab USAsrc
    President & CEO and director; also Treasurer (to May 2021) and Secretary & CFO (to September 2015)
  3. 2006 – 2013
    Rocket Labsrc
    Founder
    Led the 2009 Atea-1 launch; his title in these years is not stated in the filings read
  4. 2003 – 2006
    New Zealand government research institute (Industrial Research Ltd, per search)src
    Engineer, advanced composite structures and materials
    The proxy does not name the institute; Industrial Research Ltd comes from WS-wiki
  5. 1993 – 2003
    Fisher & Paykelsrc
    Apprentice precision engineer, then production machinery design, product design and analysis
    The proxy says his career began in 1993; WS-wiki dates the apprenticeship from 1995

Not located: Titles held 2006-2013, before he became President & CEO in July 2013, are not stated in any filing read

Achievements

  • Founded Rocket Lab in 2006; its Atea-1 in 2009 was, the company believes, the first commercially developed rocket to reach space from the Southern Hemispheresrc
  • Led the development of the Electron launcher and of the private orbital launch site LC-1 at Mahia, New Zealand, which needed an international treaty and legislationsrc
  • FY2025 revenue $601.8m, up about 38%; backlog grew from $1,067.0m to $1,847.3m over 2025src
  • Made a Knight Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the 2024 King's Birthday Honours, for services to the aerospace industry, business and educationsrc
  • Holds the Royal Aeronautical Society Gold Medal and the Royal Society of New Zealand's Cooper and Pickering Medals; adjunct professor of aerospace engineering at the University of Aucklandsrc

Education

  • James Hargest College, Invercargill, Secondary schoolsrc

Background

  • Family Married to Kerryn Beck, whom he met at Fisher & Paykel. She co-settled the Equatorial Trust that holds his Series A Preferred and is a director of its trustee company with shared voting and investment powersrc
  • Founder Holds his control stake through the Equatorial Trust. In December 2024 the trust swapped 50,951,250 common shares for Series A Preferred, which carries a right to elect at least one director (him) and converts to common if he stops being CEO, dies, or falls below 5% ownershipsrc
  • Founder In the 2021 SPAC merger the company redeemed 329,925 of his pre-split Rocket Lab shares for $30m under a management redemption agreementsrc
  • Personal The 10-K names him as the source of many, if not most, of the company's ideas. It also says he takes part in high-risk activities (recreational aviation, motorsports, operating heavy machinery), and the company carries no key-person life insurance on himsrc
  • Other Took part in Compensation Committee deliberations on the pay of the other executive officers for 2025 and earlier yearssrc

The promise ledger

No promise on the record yet: the research routine has not scored this company's guidance.

Sources

17
  1. Filing Rocket Lab Corporation DEF 14A (accession 0001628280-26-023922) · 2026-04-06
  2. Filing Rocket Lab Corporation 8-K Item 5.02, Beck employment agreement amendment and RSU cancellation (0001753926-26-000568) · 2026-03-30
  3. Filing Rocket Lab Corporation 8-K Item 5.07, 2026 annual meeting results (0001819994-26-000048) · 2026-05-21
  4. Filing Rocket Lab USA 8-K Items 1.01/5.02, Series A Preferred exchange and amended and restated Beck employment agreement (0000950170-24-133686) · 2024-12-05
  5. Filing Rocket Lab Corporation DEF 14A (accession 0001628280-25-034791) · 2025-07-11
  6. Filing Rocket Lab Corporation 10-K for FY2025 (0001819994-26-000013), risk factors and signatures · 2026-02-26
  7. Filing SEC XBRL companyconcept us-gaap/NetIncomeLoss, CIK 1819994 (FY2025 10-K, 0001819994-26-000013) · 2026-02-26
  8. Filing Vector Acquisition Corp 424B3 proxy statement/prospectus for the Rocket Lab merger (0001193125-21-220660) · 2021-07-21
  9. Filing Form 4, Peter Beck (reporting CIK 1881842), FY2025 RSU grant and sell-to-cover of 2025-11-24 (0002001011-25-000106) · 2025-11-25
  10. Filing Form 4, Peter Beck, Equatorial Trust 10b5-1 sales of 2025-12-15/16 (0002001011-25-000126) · 2025-12-16
  11. Filing Form 4, Peter Beck, sell-to-cover of 2026-03-02 (0002001011-26-000019) · 2026-03-04
  12. Filing Form 4, Peter Beck, conversion of 5,000,000 Series A Preferred by the Equatorial Trust on 2026-05-26 (0002001011-26-000076) · 2026-05-28
  13. Filing Form 4, Peter Beck, Equatorial Trust 10b5-1 sales of 2026-07-06 to 2026-07-08 (0002001011-26-000109) · 2026-07-08
  14. Web search result WebSearch: King's Birthday Honours 2024, citations for Knights Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit (DPMC) · 2026-09-24
  15. Web search result WebSearch: Peter Beck, meet the Rocket Lab CEO with no college degree (Gulf News special report) · 2026-09-24
  16. Web search result WebSearch: Peter Beck (Wikipedia; James Hargest College, 1995 Fisher & Paykel apprenticeship, Industrial Research Ltd) · 2026-09-24
  17. Web search result WebSearch: How Rocket Lab's Sir Peter Beck unwinds (NZ Herald; wife Kerryn Beck) · 2026-09-24